Back to All Events

Familiar


  • The Old Globe 1363 Old Globe Way San Diego, CA, 92101 United States (map)
Familiar_1000x1000.jpg

ABOUT THE SHOW

Donald and his wife Marvelous have been living the American Dream since emigrating from Zimbabwe nearly three decades ago. They have a beautiful house and impressive careers, and now one of their daughters is getting married! But when the bride insists on a traditional African wedding ceremony, tensions start to rise. Throw in an eccentric aunt from the old country and a bewildered bridegroom, and soon it’s not certain the couple will ever make it down the aisle. Familiar, from Tony Award nominee Danai Gurira (Black Panther, “The Walking Dead”), takes a funny, warmhearted look at tradition, marriage, and what it means to be an American family. The New York Times calls it “an engrossing, fiercely funny comedy–drama that probes with subtlety and smarts.” Contains strong language.

OldGlobeLogo.jpg

PRESENTED BY
The Old Globe
(619) 231-1941

Thursday, Feb. 14, 8pm
Friday, Feb. 15, 8pm
Saturday, Feb 16, 8pm
Sunday, Feb. 17, 2pm & 7pm
Tuesday, Feb. 19, 7pm
Wednesday, Feb. 20, 7pm
Thursday, Feb 21, 8pm
Friday, Feb. 22, 8pm
Saturday, Feb 23 8pm
Sunday, Feb. 24, 2pm & 7pm


Theatre Week Offer

$45 Tickets
Discount is for Area A seating.  Must mention promo code SDTW19 when ordering online or by phone.

 
Earlier Event: February 14
Aubergine
Later Event: February 14
Frankie & Johnny in the Clair de Lune